The Cadets 2011 award winners acknowledged

Individual performances were honored at annual banquet


cadets 2011 awardsDay after day, night after night, from Woodstown, N.J. winter rehearsals, to spring training in Johnstown, to the 17,000-mile journey that ended with a championship performance in Indianapolis that is one for the ages, these Cadets exemplified what it means to be “a Cadet” and to be part of the long maroon line that stretches back to 1934.

The 2011 Cadets Awards were presented on Sunday, Aug. 14 at the annual banquet which was held at The Westin in Indianapolis only a few short hours after the Championships performance in the Lucas Oil Stadium. Without any further ado, we are pleased to recognize the excellence of the specific Angels and Demons who were selected by the staff for their contributions and leadership towards the 2011 World Champion Cadets.

2011 Cadets Award winners

  • Cadet of the Year Guard: Lauryn Heller
  • Cadet of the Year Visual (Brass): Patrick Crowley
  • Cadet of the Year Brass: Kendra Orcutt
  • Cadet of the Year Percussion (Pit): Vanessa Wudyka
  • Rookie of the Year Guard: Kristy Beohmer
  • Rookie of the Year Visual (Brass): Jonathan Aguirre
  • Rookie of the Year Brass: Hector Robles
  • Rookie of the Year Percussion, Pit: Rebecca Conover
  • Rookie of the Year Percussion, Battery: Alex Beltran
  • Distinguished Service Award, Guard: Sarah Argul
  • Distinguished Service Award, Guard: Danielle Geier
  • Distinguished Service Award, Guard: Sophie Lovallo
  • Distinguished Service Award, Visual (Brass): Jesse Garcia
  • Distinguished Service Award, Visual (Brass): Anthony Marrero
  • Distinguished Service Award, Visual (Brass): Sam Ambrose
  • Distinguished Service Award, Brass: Thomas Baker
  • Distinguished Service Award, Brass: Nick O’Hara
  • Distinguished Service Award, Brass: Zack Travis
  • Distinguished Service Award, Percussion (Battery): Nick Ferzoco
  • Distinguished Service Award, Percussion (Battery): Ian Wudyka
  • Distinguished Service Award, Percussion (Battery): Paul Winterhalter
  • Distinguished Service Award, Percussion (Pit): Iris Heady

Special Awards were presented to Volunteers and Staff Members who were recognized for their contributions to the corps. Congratulations to each of these members of the Cadets family on their richly-deserved 2011 awards.

  • 2011 Volunteer of the Year: Patti Meeker
  • 2011 Volunteer of the Year: Robert Falgares
  • 2011 Volunteer of the Year: Kevin McLaughlin
  • 2011 Staff Member of the Year: Jeff Sacktig
  • Rookie Staff Member of the Year: Jarrod Huntley
  • Special Award for Staff Excellence: Bruno Zucalla

Two individuals were singled out for their immense impact on the world of The Cadets over the past several years. In an emotional presentation, both Drum Major Ben Pouncey and Assistant Corps Director Justin “Rudy” Heimbecker accepted plaques for their roles with the corps and were singled out for the indelible impacts they have made in the history of The Cadets.

While Pouncey and Heimbecker have left the corps, both will be missed. A heartfelt standing ovation by all in attendance signified the end of an era by these two young men who represent all that is The Cadets.


All active news articles